Thirteenth Judicial District Court
The Court Clerk’s office provides free Order of Protection (also known as a Domestic Violence Restraining Order) legal form packets during business hours.
There is no fee to file these documents. Commissioner Charles Sanchez is the domestic violence hearing officer for the 13th Judicial District Court in Valencia County.
Under the New Mexico Family Violence Protection Act (§§ 40-13-1 through 40-13-10, New Mexico Statutes Annotated), domestic abuse is defined as any incident by a household member against another household member resulting in:
- physical harm
- severe emotional distress
- bodily injury or assault
- a threat causing imminent fear of bodily injury
- criminal trespass
- criminal damage to property
- repeatedly driving by a residence or work place
- telephone harassment
- harm or threatened harm to children
- A person filling out and filing the Petition for Order of Protection document is the Petitioner. The Petition can be filed in the county where the Petitioner resides or can be found.
- Once the Petition is completed by the Petitioner, the Domestic Violence Commissioner reviews the Petition to determine whether it satisfies the requirements of law and whether it gives the Commissioner reason to believe that an act of domestic abuse has occurred. If so, the Commissioner will grant a Temporary Order of Protection.
- The Petition and Temporary Order of Protection are served by the Sheriff’s Department or local law enforcement on the Respondent. There is no fee for serving these documents. The Respondent has an opportunity to answer or respond to what is stated in the Petition.
- At the time the Temporary Order of Protection is issued, a hearing date is set. Both the Petitioner and Respondent are required to be at the hearing. Be on time. DO NOT BRING CHILDREN unless you have the Court’s permission. Both parties are entitled to representation by an attorney of their choice. Both parties should have all their evidence (documents, police reports, medical reports, photographs, etc.) and witnesses present on the day of the hearing.
- At the hearing, the Commissioner will ask the parties to present their case and evidence. At the end of the hearing, the Commissioner will decide whether to issue a long term Order of Protection.
- If an Order of Protection is issued, the Court will determine an expiration date at the time of the hearing. The Order of Protection may provide for temporary custody and support of children where applicable which expires 6 months from the date the order is issued and may be extended for 6 more months upon motion to the Court.
- Neither party should ignore what is stated in the Order of Protection. The Petitioner should keep a copy of the Order of Protection with her/him at all times. The Petitioner should inform family, friends, employers, neighbors, the children’s schools and doctor that there is an Order of Protection in effect. If the Respondent violates the Order of Protection in any way, the Petitioner should immediately call the police. The Petitioner may also seek to have the Respondent held in contempt of court for violating the Court’s Order. Forms are available in the clerk’s office.
444 Luna Avenue
Los Lunas, NM 87004
Valencia County Community Resources
Provides limited legal services and representation for low-income victims of domestic violence.
400 Gold S.W., Suite 106
Albuquerque, NM 87102
24-hour advocacy line: 505-217-0464
The Valencia Shelter offers an emergency shelter for victims (and their children) of domestic violence, support groups, 24 hour crisis intervention, assistance with restraining orders and court proceedings as well as information and referrals to other resources. All services are free of charge.
P.O. Box 1095
Belen, NM 87002
Belen office: 505-864-3202
Los Lunas office: 505-565-3100
24-hour crisis hotline: 505-864-1383
Domestic Violence Legal Helpline
P.O. Box 2184
Albuquerque, NM 87125
Albuquerque Area: 505-243-4300
New Mexico Coalition Against Domestic Violence
A statewide networking service of domestic violence resources providing a full range of services including a 24-hour hotline and shelter services.
200 Oak N.E., Suite 4
Albuquerque, NM 87106
Albuquerque Area: 505-246-9240
Provides legal resources and services for victims of domestic violence.
P.O. Box 27519
Albuquerque, NM 87125
Women’s Community Association
Provides shelter services, heathcare, counseling, assistance with restraining order as well as employment and educational opportunities.
P.O. Box 25363
Albuquerque, NM 87125
Phone: 505-247-4219 or 800-773-3645